top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaesium

(WHAT?!!Lion almost die?!) Blog of the experience producing the mini documentary Part I

On the first week of February, we got an assignment which required us to create a mini documentary to raise the awareness among the youngster. My team and I decided to do a short documentary on the title “Beneath the Lion”. We going to talk about the culture and the origin of Lion Dance in Malaysia back in the 80’s. So we contacted Malaysia Khuan Loke Dragon & Lion Dance Association to do a short interview with them.

On the 19th of February, we went to Starling Mall to shoot their Lion Dance Performance. My production team and I went there earlier at 12 p.m. because we wanted to get some shots of them getting prepare. When I first reached there, I quickly set up my stabilizer and balanced it because I didn’t want to miss out any shot. We could not find where they are, and it turned out that they were late. They just finished another performance at Petaling Street and they were rushing.

Once they arrived, they quickly set up all the piles outside the mall and pushed it into the mall that I mentioned earlier (Starling Mall) with wheels beneath the piles. Inside the mall, one of the Lion Dance member went on to the piles to check whether it is stable or not. If it is not, he will ask the people at the bottom to adjust. In this meantime, Abby and I started to shoot them doing preparation while Nicholas was shooting BTS.

When the performance started, Abby went one level up to get shot from a different perspective while I was on the ground floor shooting close up shots. What got me disappointed is that I missed all their special trick which they let the head of the “lion” hanging while the back legs were still on the piles. I missed out all the three times they performed the trick because I was busy changing angle. We tried to shoot as many as possible we could get, so we will be easier for us to edit in post.

After they finished perform, they distributed Mandarin Oranges to the audience representing giving out prosperity and luck. I couldn’t get to take because I was busy shooting. So when they were starting to clean up, I went up to confirm the date and venue of the interview with them. The date of the interview is on 23rd of February which is on Saturday.

6 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page